## CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

MINIMUM AGE: Applicant must be 21 years of age or older.

**RESIDENCY**: Applicant must be a resident of the <u>CITY</u> OF ALEXANDRIA (NOT the Alexandria section of Fairfax County).

**COMPETENCE WITH A HANDGUN**: The applicant shall demonstrate competence with a handgun in person by one of the following:

- 1. Completing a hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources or a similar agency of another state;
- 2. Completing any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course;
- 3. Completing any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by a law-enforcement agency, institution of higher education, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Department of Criminal Justice Services or a similar agency of another state;
- 4. Completing any law-enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement;
- 5. Presenting evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition approved by the Department of State Police or current military service or proof of an honorable discharge from any branch of the armed services;
- 6. Obtaining or previously having held a license to carry a firearm in the Commonwealth or a locality thereof, unless such license has been revoked for cause;
- 7. Completing any in-person firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state-certified or National Rifle Association-certified firearms instructor:
- 8. Completing any governmental police agency firearms training course and qualifying to carry a firearm in the course of normal police duties; or
- 9. Completing any other firearms training that the Virginia Department of State Police deems adequate.

A photocopy of a certificate of completion of any such course or class; an affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization, or group that conducted or taught such course or class attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant; or a copy of any document that shows completion of the course or class or evidences participation in firearms competition shall satisfy the requirement for demonstration of competence with a handgun.

\*\*\*\*\* Continued on next page\*\*\*\*\*

## **CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS (cont.)**

**IDENTIFICATION**: At the time of application, the applicant must present a valid, unexpired, government-issued picture ID. When mailing a renewal application, the applicant must include a photocopy of a valid, unexpired, government-issued picture ID.

WHERE & WHEN TO TURN IN APPLICATION: A completely executed application shall be filed with the Alexandria Clerk of Circuit Court (520 King Street, Suite 307, Alexandria, VA 22314) between the hours of 8:00 am to 4:00 pm, Monday thru Friday (except holidays). New applications should be submitted in person; renewal applications may be submitted by mail. The permit is mailed from the Circuit Court Clerk's office.

**PAYMENT**: Payment of \$50.00 is required at the time of submittal to the Clerk's Office. Acceptable methods of payment are **check**, **money order** (made payable to "Clerk of Circuit Court"), **cash or credit card (Visa & MasterCard only, additional \$2.00 convenience fee is collected)**.

NOTE: The Alexandria Police Department performs a background investigation as part of the application process and then submits the results to the Commonwealth's Attorney's Office. After review by the Commonwealth's Attorney, the paperwork is forwarded to the Clerk of the Alexandria Circuit Court where a Circuit Court Judge renders a decision. The process can take up to 45 days. Once completed, the permit will be mailed to you from the Clerk's office.

Revised 01/04/2021